Choosing Minimalism

My minimalism journey began about two years ago when I came across the idea of the capsule wardrobe and Project 333. I have always enjoyed a good wardrobe purge (growing up having to share one with two other people will do that to you) and it seemed like a fun experiment.

The thing about capsule wardrobing that caught my attention was that it seemed like the perfect way to explore and try and discover what my style was. So many years of school uniforms left me really unsure about what I actually liked wearing, which meant that I was constantly buying into new trends just to see if it would somehow fit my personality. In turn, this just left me with a closet full of clothes that I either didn’t like or that didn’t feel like ‘me.’ Creating a collection of my favourite seasonal pieces seemed like the perfect way to solve this problem.

Honestly though, I never followed through. Sure I would purge my clothes and throw away entire garbage bags full of items, but I never got around to actually manufacturing a cyclical wardrobe. So perhaps the capsule wardrobe isn’t for me, but it would still be great to downsize and streamline.

That’s when I started learning about the KonMari method for tidying. I watched so many YouTube videos about it before eventually picking up The Life-changing Magic… myself. My take away from Marie Kondo’s writing has been to follow her rules regarding tidying by category and finding a suitable home for every item I own. While I don’t follow those rules to the letter, I do find them to be a very useful guideline to keep in mind while clearing out my belongings.

Finally, my research into decluttering and tidying is what ultimately lead me to minimalism. What I like about minimalism as a concept is that it is actually a lifestyle that promotes living intentionally. By eliminating the excess of physical clutter in the spaces we occupy, we are able to eliminate some of our mental clutter as well. At the very least we free up time and space that allows us to focus on determining what is important to us, and what emotional baggage we can let go of.

With each unnecessary item I have removed so far I can feel myself becoming reenergised, almost as though I’m reclaiming the energy it was taking from me simply by taking up space. That’s quite a hokey way of putting it; what I’m really saying is that I the item becomes something I no longer have to think about. It’s no longer ‘something I should really throw away or donate’ because it’s not there anymore. Out of sight, out of mind in a way it wasn’t just by sitting in the back of the cupboard.

Right now, it’s a work in progress. It will  always be a work in progress because as people, we ourselves are constantly changing and developing.

I know that at this point in time I am only beginning to find ways to simplify my life, and at the moment it seems as though I’m making as much of a mess as I am trying to clean it (see image above). Despite this, I do truly believe the rewards will be well worth the effort I am putting in now.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

